Who We Are

  MANJIT K. MISRA
  mkmisra@iastate.edu

  Director, Global Food Security Consortium
  Director, Seed Science Center
  Director, BIGMAP
  Professor of Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering

Manjit K. Misra is Director of the Seed Science Center, the Founding Director of the Biosafety Institute for Genetically Modified Agricultural Products (BIGMAP), Director of the Global Food Security Consortium, and a Professor of Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering at Iowa State University. Recently appointed as chair of the USDA National Genetic Resources Advisory Council (NGRAC), Misra has served on more than 60 local, national, and international boards and committees. These include the steering committee for FAO’s International Conference on Biotechnology, the Scientific Advisory Council of the American Seed Research Foundation, and the Board of Directors of the Iowa Seed Association, the Iowa Crop Improvement Association, and the “First the Seed Foundation.” Misra is an educator with 140 publications, and an innovator with six patents. He has received a number of awards for his leadership including the “Distinguished Service Award” from the American Seed Trade Association, the “Order of the Knoll Faculty Award” from Iowa State University, and the “Honorary Member Award” from the Iowa Seed Association. Misra earned a B.S. in Agricultural Engineering at the University of Agriculture and Technology in Orissa, India; and an M.S. in Agricultural Engineering (soil and water) and a Ph.D. in Agricultural Engineering (food and processing) at the University of Missouri-Columbia.

 

  MAX ROTHSCHILD
  mfrothsc@iastate.edu

  Co-Director, Global Food Security Consortium
  Assoc. Director, Center for Sustainable Rural Livelihoods
  M.E. Ensminger International Chair
  C.F. Curtiss Distinguised Professor in Agriculture

Max Rothschild received his B.S. in animal science at the University of California, Davis in 1974 and his M.S. at the University of Wisconsin in animal science in 1975. In 1978 he obtained his Ph.D. in animal breeding from Cornell University. He has been a faculty member at Iowa State University for 34 years. Rothschild has devoted his research and teaching career to the field of animal breeding and molecular genetics. Recent research has been directed towards identifying genes controlling traits of economic importance in the pig, and several other species. From 1993 to 2003 Rothschild served as the USDA Pig Genome Mapping Coordinator. Rothschild also has been active developing livestock projects in developing countries and has been associated with the Center for Sustainable Rural Livelihoods working with families to learn livestock production. From 2011-2012 Rothschild was a Jefferson Science fellow working at the US Agency for International Development on food security research.

 

Dirk Maier Photo

  DIRK MAIER 
  dmaier@iastate.edu

  Associate Director, Global Food Security Consortium
  Professor of Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering

Dirk Maier is a Professor and Post-Harvest Engineer in the Department of Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering. He is the Founding Director of the USAID-funded Feed the Future Innovation Lab for the Reduction of Post-Harvest Loss, for which he served as the lead PI. Maier is a registered professional engineer and a member and officer of several academic, professional and scholarly societies. He has served on two EPA FIFRA Scientific Advisory Panels related to the assessment of genetically modified grains and has traveled extensively throughout the world as a speaker and participant in many national and international industry meetings and scientific conferences. Maier's research program focuses on post-harvest engineering applied to grain and feed operations and processing, involving projects such as post-harvest loss reduction and prevention, food security, grain operations management and feed technology. His outreach program focuses on crop post-harvest handling, drying, storage, processing and loss prevention, global food and nutrition security and continuing education and credentialing of industry professionals in the global grain and feed industry. Maier holds a B.S., M.S. and Ph.D. in Agricultural Engineering from Michigan State University.

 

Cassie Welch Photo

  CASSIE WELCH
  cwelch@iastate.edu

  Program Manager, Global Food Security Consortium

Cassie Welch joined Iowa State University in September 2015. Welch, an animal physiologist, brings her expertise in growth and livestock production efficiency to the Global Food Security Consortium, along with agricultural policy experience. Prior to joining Iowa State, Welch served as the 2014 - 2015 FASS/AAAS Congressional Science and Technology Fellow in the House of Representatives in Washington, DC. She holds a B.S. in biology from the University of North Alabama, an M.S. in animal nutrition from Mississippi State University and a Ph.D. in animal physiology from the University of Idaho. 

 

 

MEMBERSHIP

Currently the Global Food Security Consortium has a significant number of members and growing. We have partnerships with 8 universities, 4 CGIAR research institutes and numerous private industry companies. There are a number of benefits to joining the consortium:

  • Access to a broad number of experts from many different institutions
  • Knowledge sharing, learning and networking
  • Intellectual and other resource access
  • Request for Proposal (RFP) and Project sharing and partnership opportunities
  • Research and concept development
  • Proposal writing and editing

Contact us for more information on becoming a member

Participant List

Acker David Iowa State University Academic and Global Programs Co-Lead Capacity Building dacker@iastate.edu
Adu-Dapaah Hans Crops Research Institute (CRI) Director and plant breeder Climate Resilient Healthy Crops cridirector@cropsresearch.org
Aluru Srinivas Iowa State University Electrical & Computer Engineering Climate Resilient Healthy Crops aluru@iastate.edu
Aveling Theresa University of Pretoria Forestry and Agricultural Biotechnology Institute terry.aveling@up.ac.za
Bain Carmen Iowa State University Sociology Co-Lead Socio-Economics cbain@iastate.edu
Baumgard Lance Iowa State University Animal Science Climate Resilient Healthy Animals baumgard@iastate.edu
Beghin John Iowa State University College of Agriculture and Life Sciences-Economics Co-Lead Socio-Economics beghin@iastate.edu
Bhattacharyya Madan Kumar Iowa State University Agronomy Climate Resilient Healthy Crops mbhattac@iastate.edu
Boettcher Paul Food & Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) Animal Production Climate Resilient Healthy Animals Paul.Boettcher@fao.org
Camacho-Escobar Marco Antonio Universidad del Mar Professor/Researcher marcama@zicatela.umar.mx
Chimonyo Michael University of KwaZulu-Natal Professor/Researcher chimonyo@ukzn.zc.za
Chiou Chien-Ping Iowa State University Center for Nondestructive Evaluation Instrument for Platforms cchiou@iastate.edu
Chopra Shweta Iowa State University Agriculture and Biosystems Engineering schopra@iastate.edu
Clutter Archie University of Nebraska-Lincoln Agriculutral Research Division Agricultural Research aclutter2@unl.edu
Cooper Theressa Iowa State University Assistant Dean for Diversity, CALS Undergraduate Education tncooper@iastate.edu
Cortes Joe Iowa State University Seed Systems Co-Lead Germplasm and Seed Systems jcortes@iastate.edu
Dashiell Kenton International Institute of Tropical Agriculture (IITA) Partnerships, Deputy Director General Climate Resilient Healthy Crops k.dashiell@cgiar.org
Dayal Vinay Iowa State University Aerospace Engineering Instrument for Platforms vdayal@iastate.edu
Dickson Jim Iowa State University Animal Science jdickson@iastate.edu
Dileepkumar Guntuku International Crops Research Institute for the Semi-Arid Tropics (ICRISAT) Knowledge Development and Sharing Co-Lead Natural Resource Management g.dileepkumar@CGIAR.ORG
Dong Liang Iowa State University Electrical & Computer Engineering Instrument for Platforms ldong@iastate.edu
El Nahta Sahar 2-201091115069 National Research Center, Egypt Cell Bioloty, Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology selnahta@yahoo.com
Fasina Folorunso Oludayo University of Pretoria Lecturer - Veterinary Science dayo.fasina@up.ac.za
Gahlot G. C. Rajasthan University of Veterinary & Animal Science Animal Genetics & Breeding gahlotgcbkn@rediffmail.com
Gardner Candice Iowa State University North Central Regional Plant Introduction Station Plant Germplasm Candice.Gardner@ARS.USDA.GOV
Garrick Dorian Iowa State University Animal Science Climate Resilient Healthy Animals dorian@iastate.edu
Gizie Bazezew Dilla University, Ethiopia Professor/Researcher www.baze@gmail.com
Gumina Mike DuPont Pioneer Vice President of Production Seed Systems Mike.Gumina@pioneer.com
Harries Adelaida Iowa State University Seed Science Center Global Seed Program Seed Systems aharries@iastate.edu
Harris Hank Iowa State University Animal Science and Vet Diagnosis Climate Resilient Healthy Animals hharris@iastate.edu
Hurd Scott Iowa State University Vet Diagnostics and Production Animal Med. Co-Lead Policies, Regulation, and Trade shurd@iastate.edu
Jensen Helen Iowa State University Economics Co-Lead Policies, Regulation, and Trade hhjensen@iastate.edu
Karnuah Arthur Central Agricultural Research Institute (CARI), Liberia Director, Livestock Research & Services akarnuah9@gmail.com
Kassama Lamin Alabama Agricultural & Mechanical University Food and Process Engineering, Food and Animal Sciences Co-Lead Post Harvest and Utilization Lamin.Kassama@aamu.edu
Kern Rienzzie Heifer International Capacity Building Co-Lead Capacity Building Rienzzie.Kern@heifer.org
Korsten L University of Pretoria Microbioligy and Plant Pathology lise.korsten@up.ac.za
Kouadio Kouakou Parfait University Peleforo Gon Coulibaly of Korhogo Lecturer/ Animal genetics and breeding kouakouparfait@yahoo.fr
Krohn Daniel Iowa State University Lead, Sustainability Coatings for Nitrogen Fixation dmkrohn@iastate.edu
Lamont Susan Iowa State University Animal Science Co-Lead Climate Resilient Healthy Animals sjlamont@iastate.edu
Lamsal Buddhi Iowa State University Food Science and Human Nutrition lamsal@iastate.edu
Lamsal Buddhi Iowa State Univeristy Food Science and Human Nutrition Post Harvest Utilization lamsal@iastate.edu
Lenssen Andy Iowa State University Agronomy Cropping Systems alenssen@iastate.edu
Lubberstedt Thomas Iowa State University Plant Breeding Co-Lead Climate Resilient Healthy Crops thomasl@iastate.edu
Luvaga Ebby Iowa State University College of Agriculture and Life Sciences-Economics Farmer Decision Making luvaga@iastate.edu
MacDonald Ruth Iowa State University Food Science and Human Nutrition Post Harvest and Utilization ruthmacd@iastate.edu
Maher Kevin GlobalVetLINK kmaher@globalvetlink.com
Manu Andrew Iowa State University Agronomy Co-Lead Natural Resource Management akmanu@iastate.edu
Martens Bobby Iowa State University Supply Chain & Information Systems Policies, Regulations & Trade martens1@iastate.edu
Martin Chris Iowa State University College of Design Socio-Economics chmartin@iastate.edu
Mazur Robert Iowa State University Sociology Farmer Decision Making rmazur@iastate.edu
McLaren David Genus Pic Animal Genetics Climate Resilient Healthy Animals mclaren@pic.com
Misra Manjit Iowa State University Seed Science Project Chair mkmisra@iastate.edu
Munkvold Gary Iowa State University Plant Pathology & Microbiology Germplasm & Seed Systems munkvold@iastate.edu
Nair Ajay Iowa State University Horticulture Vegetable Production nairajay@iastate.edu
Nene Vishvanath International Livestock Research Institute (ILRI) Veterinary Immunology Co-Lead Climate Resilient Healthy Animals V.Nene@cgiar.org
Nutter Forrest Iowa State University Plant Pathology and Microbiology Plants fwn@iastate.edu
Panigrahi Suranjan Purdue University Agricultural Engineering Instrument for Platforms spanigr@purdue.edu
Plummer Paul Iowa State University College of Veterinary Science pplummer@iastate.edu
Prathapasinghe Liyanage Nuwan Pathmasiri Uva Wellassa University of Sri Lanka Lecturer nuwan.ppl@gmail.com
Rajan Prashant Iowa State University Department of English prajan@iastate.edu
Ray Chittaranjan Nebraska Water Center Director Water for Food cray3@unl.edu
Reddy Manju Iowa State University Food Science and Human Nutrition Human Nutrition mbreddy@mail.iastate.edu
Rischkowsky Barbara International Center for Research in the Dry Areas (ICARDA) Animal Genetics Climate Resilient Healthy Animals B.Rischkowsky@cgiar.org>
Rosentrater Kurt Iowa State University Ag & Biosystems Engineering Co-Lead Post Harvest and Utilization karosent@iastate.edu
Rothschild Max Iowa State University Animal Science Project Co-Chair mfrothsc@iastate.edu
Safalaoh Andy Lilongwe University of Agriculture and Natural Resources Senior Lecturer in Monogastric Nutrition and Poultry Production safalaoh@gmail.com
Sayre Brian Virginia State University Biology Climate Resilient Healthy Animals BSayre@vsu.edu
Schnable Patrick Iowa State University Agronomy Climate Resilient Healthy Crops schnable@iastate.edu
Takle Gene Iowa State University Agronomy/Geological Atmospheric Science Co-Lead Climate Resilient Healthy Crops gstakle@iastate.edu
Taylor Alan Cornell University Horticulture Germplasm & Seed Systems agt1@cornell.edu
Walcott Ron University of Georgia Plant Pathology Co-Lead Germplasm and Seed Systems rwalcott@uga.edu
Walton Mark Recombinetics Chief Marketing Officer mark@recombinetics.com
Wang Toni Iowa State University Department of Food Science and Human Nutrition Postharvest Processing tongwang@iastate.edu
Wang Kan Iowa State University Agronomy Climate Resilient Healthy Animals kanwang@iastate.edu
Welbaum Greg Virginia Tech Horticulture Germplasm & Seed Systems welbaum@vt.edu
White Wendy Iowa State University Food Science and Human Nutrition Post Harvest and Utilization wswhite@mail.iastate.edu
Winham Donna Iowa State University Food Science and Human Nutririon dwinham@iastate.edu
Yakubu Abdulmojeed Nasarawa State University, Keffi Animal Science Faculty abdulmojyak@gmail.com